Shambles: Summer of Infinite Jestation


Poor Yorick Entertainment Unlimited

Hamlet, Act V, Scene I, Lines ~165-185:

FIRST CLOWN: … The same skull, sir, was, sir, Yorick’s skull, the King’s jester.

HAMLET: This?                        [Takes the skull]

FIRST CLOWN: E’en that.

HAMLET: Alas, poor Yorick! I knew him, Horatio, a fellow of infinite jest, of most excellent fancy. He hath bore me on his back a thousand times, and now how abhorr’d in my imagination it is! my gorge rises at it. Here hung those lips that I have kiss’d I know not how oft. Where be your gibes now, your gambols, your songs, your flashes of merriment, that were wont to set the table on a roar? Not one now to mock your own grinning – quite chop-fall’n*. Now get you to my lady’s [chamber], and tell her, let her paint an inch thick, to this favor**  she must come; make her laugh at that. […]

*note from editor: 1) lacking the lower jaw, or 2) downcast

**ne: appearance

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Orin dreams of Moms’s head has been severed and attached to his body. Aside from suggesting he has serious mommy issues, I’m not sure what that means.

Comment by alfkarapety

[…] oh yeah Shakespeare, I hear you. DFW actually used the word “usurp” (+/- -er, -ed)  in reference to C.T. (again, this […]

Pingback by Welcome, Madame Psychosis « Shambles: Summer of Infinite Jestation

Here is a little more from some edition of Hamlet:

Act I, Scene II, lines 275-280ish:
GERTRUDE: If it be/ Why seems it so particular with thee?
HAMLET: Seems, madam. Nay, it is. I know not ‘seems’.

Act II, Scene II, lines 1345-1350ish:
HAMLET: Denmark’s a prison.
ROSENCRANTZ: Then the world is one.
HAMLET: A goodly one; in which there are many confines, wards, and
dungeons, Denmark being one o’ th’ worst.
ROSENCRANTZ: We think not so, my lord.
HAMLET: Why then there ’tis none to you; for there is nothing either good or bad but thinking makes it so. To me it is a prison.

And of course, the famous not to be missed Act III, Scene I speech (c. line 1750) , where Hamlet ruminates on the point of existenZ:

HAMLET: To be, or not to be…

Comment by Ivy

[…] in real time count as Real-Snow or Snow-Falling-On-A-Representation-Of-Territories, recalls for me some scenes/themes from Hamlet (the kids are even called Players on p. 338, which is what Shakespeare’s stage directions […]

Pingback by Gaudeaumus igitur « Shambles: Summer of Infinite Jestation

[…] It’s nice that this sort of fits into my framework for the Hamlet resemblances, however, I’m not sure how much else there could possibly be. There […]

Pingback by Shambles: Summer of Infinite Jestation

Some of Shakespeare’s Cross-dressers:

The Merchant of Venice: Portia as a man
Twelfth Night: Viola as a man
As You Like It: Rosalind as a man who dresses as a woman

Comment by Ivy

[…] accounts of what The Entertainment does too eerily well. Steeply may be a cross-dresser in the Shakespearean sense (which in my opinion really ties in well to the Orin romance – which is a slightly edited […]

Pingback by Carved out of what, though, this place? « Shambles: Summer of Infinite Jestation

Hamlet Act V, Scene I at approximately the point where two clowns discuss the burial of Ophelia (line ~9ish):

FIRST CLOWN: Is she to be buried in Christian burial that
wilfully seeks her own salvation?

SECOND CLOWN: I tell thee she is: and therefore make her grave
straight: the crowner hath sat on her, and finds it
Christian burial.

FIRST CLOWN: How can that be, unless she drowned herself in her
own defence?

SECOND CLOWN: Why, ’tis found so.

FIRST CLOWN: It must be ‘se offendendo;’ it cannot be else. For
here lies the point: if I drown myself wittingly,
it argues an act: and an act hath three branches: it
is, to act, to do, to perform: argal, she drowned
herself wittingly.

Courtesy of this site.

Comment by Ivy

[…] is a “subtle jab at Gately from a Ewell intimate with the graveyard scene from Hamlet, namely V.i.9” (1076). I mean, DFW is all over the place with authorial intrusion (especially in the […]

Pingback by Of turnipcuts, embryoglios, and prosfeces « Shambles: Summer of Infinite Jestation




Leave a Reply

